Can a new year mend old habits?

I haven’t been too diligent about informing the rest of the world of my comings, goings, and doings for the past year (or past 24 years for that matter). Thankfully, not too many people have been itching to find out either. I haven’t kept up with the blog, but I have kept up with Weightlifting. Out of the two activities, I probably chose the better one to keep up with for the past year. I now have over a year’s worth of observations, conclusions and experiences to draw upon! It then follows I should be wiser and be more judicious in my decision making.

I am challenging myself to write at least 1 post a week in order to measure my personal progress. Sort of like a progress report, though the grader and student are one of the same. (Yes, a complete reversal of what my previous record indicates- 2 posts annually or 1 semiannually). I will do my best to say interesting things, though I can’t guarantee it. From time to time I will probably make insightful connections or poignant conclusions about human nature or the general ebbs and flows of life. You will just have to bear with me and wait for “stuff” to happen. Usually all of the prosaic and monotonous events each day will at some point collectively add up to something meaningful in the end. When is the “end”? I suppose 3 or 6 months or a year from now. Death is the end of all ends. Thankfully, the end is not near. A clean slate is in front of us now.

What do I hope to gain from the coming year?

I hope to hoist heavy weights with beautiful speed, precision, and technique when the moment counts. It’s an elusive feeling and goal every lifter and respective athlete chases their entire career. Aside from developing tenacity and perseverance from the daily grind of training, I hope to further hone my execution skills in competition. Once you arrive at the platform, there’s little else you can tell yourself to do. Each lift questions whether you’ve poured enough trust in your ability to do what you have done thousands of times. For whatever reason, doubt at times can linger and prevail, yet I’ve learned the more attempts you take the more confidence you gain.

So, what is the point of all this? How can I or anyone else profit from violently pulling heavy objects from the floor to overhead? You are lifting your hopes, fears, frustrations and any other sentiment you carry inside. Every day I challenge myself to see how far am I willing to go in order to become the person it takes to achieve what I’ve set out to do. Success is not a linear climb, it comes in peaks, valleys and sometimes troughs. While you have to remember where you started, it’s where you’re headed that matters more.

I’m still trying to figure out how to combine my talents and interests into one seamless lifelong project. I hope this blog can be the launching pad for whatever that project is or becomes. It will take time and patience for it to take shape, but I suppose it will unfold as my thoughts become clearer.

Leave a Reply

